#BookReview: CUT TO THE BONE by Roz Watkins @RozWatkins @HQstories

Cut to the BonePublication: 25th June 2020 – HQ

A beautiful young social-media star goes missing.

But who took her?

When controversial internet celebrity Violet Armstrong vanishes in the middle of a scorching Peak District summer, the case sparks a media frenzy.

The clock is ticking for DI Meg Dalton and her team to find Violet before online threats explode into real-life violence. And then the blood and hair of a young woman are found in an empty pig trough at the local abattoir…

The more Meg finds out about this unnerving case, the more she becomes convinced that something very, very bad has happened to Violet. With temperatures rising and the press demanding answers, the case is about to take a terrifying turn…

In bestselling author Roz Watkins’ chilling new thriller, DI Meg Dalton must face her most disturbing case yet. Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Susie Steiner and Val McDermid.

Amazon.co.uk: https://amzn.to/2XTrAnI

**********

Cut To The Bone is the third book featuring DI Meg Dalton and I am really enjoying this series. Meg Dalton is a likable character, strong, smart, relatable, even funny at times. She has a complicated family history, a rough past that sometime still sneaks up on her, and she is surrounded by a team of mostly likable detectives (there is a bad apple in every group).

In this new novel, DI Meg Dalton is investigating the sudden disappearance of Violet, an eighteen-year-old vlogger famous for videoing herself in bikini while she cooks meat and she has quite a following of fans and even a few haters. Violet’s disappearance triggers a social media war between groups of activists and when the war goes beyond simple insults on Facebook, DI Meg Dalton and her team need to find Violet before things get much worse.

Cut To The Bone takes place in the Peak District village of Gritton, a place that everyone seems to want to stay away from, surrounded by a gothic and claustrophobic atmosphere that gave me the chills just reading about it. Making things more sinister is the myth of the Pale Child, the ghost of a murdered child wandering around the village.

The story is brilliant, twisty and very-well-written. I love that it is told in first person from Meg’s point of view because, as I mentioned, she is a fantastic character and, as a reader, I enjoy being inside her head. This series just keeps getting better and better and I will certainly keep reading it (I am already looking forward to book number 4!). If you enjoy a good chilling police thriller, this one is for you. A fantastic read!

A huge thank you to HQ and NetGalley for providing me with a proof of the book.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s