#BlogTour: CODENAME FIREFLY by C. J. Daugherty @CJ_Daugherty @midaspr @moonflowerbooks #CodenameFirefly

Publication: 2nd September 2021 – Moonflower Books

Assassins are hunting the daughter of the Prime Minister… How long will she hide before it’s time to fight back? The thrilling sequel to Number 10, which was named a YA Book of the Year by the Independent and FT.

Gray Langtry is on the run. As the only child of the British Prime Minister, Gray’s life has been in turmoil ever since her mother was chosen to lead the country. Both she and her mother are targets of a Russian assassination plot. And what’s worse, members of her mother’s own cabinet are involved. A team of bodyguards never leaves her side. The press attention is relentless. And then there are the death threats.

Now, after an attempt on Gray’s life, she has been moved to an elite boarding school in the British countryside. Shielded by high walls and locked gates, Gray finally feels safe, but the plotters are still hunting, and soon they will find her. Gray’s personal bodyguard, Julia, and the school’s young headmistress are determined to protect her. They both know how dangerous things are. The assassins searching for Gray are highly trained. And when they arrive they will aim to kill. Dylan, a mysterious American student, seems to know more than he should – but he’s always there when Gray needs him. Can she trust him? Can she trust anyone?

As winter closes in and darkness falls, Gray will have to think fast.

The hunters are coming.



I am delighted to welcome you on my stop for the blog tour of Codename Firefly, the brand new novel by C. J. Daughterty.

Unless it’s fantasy, I don’t usually read much YA novels, but last year I took part in the blog tour for Number 10, the first book of this wonderful series, initially simply because I love the author’s adult novels (written under the name Christi Daugherty). As I expected, I also enjoyed her YA novel, so when I was asked if I wanted to take part in the blog tour for the sequel, Codename Firefly, I didn’t think twice before gladly accepting.

The protagonist of this series is Gray Langtry. She is a sixteen-year-old girl, but she is not any normal girl. She is the only daughter of England’s Prime Minister. In Number 10, she barely survived a terrorist attack so now she is attending Cimmeria Academy where it is believed she will be safe. However, a terrorist group is still after her to get to her mother and they are ready to do anything to get their hands on her. The security at the school is high and Gray’s own bodyguards are more than capable, so how do intruders keep getting into the school?

Gray is a fantastic well-drawn character and I really like her. She wishes for a normal life of school and going out with friends, but, as the Prime Minister’s daughter, she knows she will never have one. She is struggling with her fears following the events in Number 10, however she’s is determined to not let the bad guys win. So, after a slightly rough beginning at Cimmeria Academy, we see Gray make a few friends, make an enemy out of the most popular student, growing a crush on another student, sneak out of the school in the middle of the night for a small adventure… essentially trying to have a kind of regular life, even if this means having a team of bodyguards around her.

The story is intriguing and suspenseful, and I love the English college life with which I fell in love when I was younger and reading Harry Potter (although here there are dangerous men with guns and knives and not wands). I really enjoyed Codename Firefly and I am already looking forward to the sequel to see what happens next.

A huge thank you to Sofia and Midas PR for inviting me to join the blog tour and providing me with a proof of this captivating novel.

A former crime reporter and accidental civil servant, C.J. Daugherty began writing the Night School series while working as a communications consultant for the Home Office. The young adult series was published by Little Brown and went on to sell over a million and a half copies worldwide. A web series inspired by the books clocked up well over a million views. In 2020, the books were optioned for television. She later wrote The Echo Killing series, published by St Martin’s Press, and co-wrote the fantasy series, The Secret Fire, with French author Carina Rosenfeld.

While working as a civil servant, she had meetings at Number 10 Downing Street, and saw people disappearing through a small door leading to a staircase heading below ground level. This visit became the inspiration for Number 10.  FYI: She still doesn’t know if there are tunnels below Number 10. But she hopes there are.

Her books have been translated into 24 languages and been bestsellers in multiple countries. She lives with her husband, the BAFTA nominated filmmaker, Jack Jewers. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s