#BlogTour: THE WIFE UPSTAIRS by Rachel Hawkins @LadyHawkins @HarperFiction @annecater @RandomTTours

Publication: 5th January 2021 (ebook) – HarperCollins

A girl looking for love…
When Jane, a broke dog-walker newly arrived in town, meets Eddie Rochester, she can’t believe her luck. Eddie is handsome, rich and lives alone in a beautiful mansion since the tragic death of his beloved wife a year ago.

A man who seems perfect…
Eddie can give Jane everything she’s always wanted: stability, acceptance, and a picture-perfect life.

A wife who just won’t stay buried…
But what Jane doesn’t know is that Eddie is keeping a secret – a big secret. And when the truth comes out, the consequences are far more deadly than anyone could ever have imagined…

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs is perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Ruth Ware and Shari Lapena.

AMAZON

WATERSTONES

**********

Delighted to welcome you on my stop for the blog tour of The Wife Upstairs, the thrilling new novel by Rachel Hawkins.

The Wife Upstairs is good, really good! It is a modern and twistier reimagination of Jane Eyre. The characters are named after the classic novel, but the plot is darker than I expected and the suspense is high giving you a sense of dread that something is not as perfect as it seems in Thornfield Estates, a gated community in Birmingham, Alabama, where Jane works as a dog-walker for the wealthy families. Eddie Rochester is a widower. His wife Bertha ‘Bea’ Rochester disappeared a few months ago in a boating accident with her best friend Blanche and their bodies were never found. Jane wants a life in Thornfield Estates and she sees Eddie Rochester as her way in.

Jane and Eddie’s whirlwind romance is the talk of the community, but the more she tries to adapt to life in Thornfield Estates, the more she feels Bea’s ghost haunting her. Bea was beautiful and successful, her life perfect and while Jane tries to measure up to her, she has also a secret to protect. But is she the only one hiding something?

The Wife Upstairs is one of these thrillers that keep me on the edge of the seat the entire time I am reading and I love it!!! It is twisty, witty, and smart and I was completely engrossed in it until I reached the last page.The author’s writing style is brilliant and addictive and I admit that I loved the character of Jane. She is devious and manipulative, yes, but she is also a survivor trying to escape her past.

For me, The Wife Upstairs is a fast read because the more I read, the more the tension raised, the more I didn’t want to put it down because I needed to see what happened next (even though, most of the time my suspicions were correct). I really enjoyed The Wife Upstairs which introduced me to a new author who I am looking forward to keeping reading.

A huge thank you to Anne Cater and HarperFiction for inviting me to join the blog tour and providing me with a proof of the novel.

**********

Rachel Hawkins is the New York Times bestselling author of multiple books for young readers, and her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama with her husband and son. The Wife Upstairs is her first adult novel.

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour: THE WIFE UPSTAIRS by Rachel Hawkins @LadyHawkins @HarperFiction @annecater @RandomTTours”

Leave a Reply to jenrosewrites Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s