#BookReview: CONFESSION ON THE 7:45 by Lisa Unger @lisaunger @HQstories

Publication: 6th October 2020 – HQ

Everyone has a secret. Who would you trust with yours?

On Selena Murphy’s train home from work, a mysterious woman named Martha strikes up a conversation and shares a confession: she’s having an affair with her boss. In turn, Selena shares her own secret: she suspects her husband is sleeping with the nanny.

At Selena’s station the two women part, and Selena never expects to see her again. Until she receives a message. I’d love to continue our conversation. Can we get together? It’s Martha, by the way. From the train.

But Selena never gave Martha her number. She brushes the message off – until days later her nanny goes missing, and Selena begins to wonder if it’s all connected. Who is Martha, really? And what does she want with Selena?

Confessions on the 7:45 will have you gripped from the first page until the last. Perfect for fans of Harriet Tyce’s Blood Orange and A.J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window.

AMAZON

WATERSTONES

**********

Lisa Unger never disappoints. NEVER. Confession on the 7:45 is another gripping and addictive novel that it was very hard to put down, especially because most of the chapters ended with some sort of cliffhanger or the promise of a big revelation that made me say “just one more chapter and then I’ll stop reading” (and then I didn’t!).

At the center of this new novel by Lisa Unger there are secrets and choices. What if, ten years earlier, Selena hadn’t chosen Graham over her then boyfriend Will? Would she have been happier? Would she now be confiding her secrets to a stranger on a train during her commute home? What if she had made different decisions during her marriage? Would she be spying on her husband and their nanny?

Martha, is the stranger on the train to whom Selena confided, and she has her secrets, too. She is sleeping with her boss and she fears for her job, should his wife find out. But what if their problems would just disappear? What if Selena’s nanny simply disappeared? Would Selena’s problems be over? Or would they just begin?

Confession on the 7:45 is completely addictive. The more I read the more I wanted to know more about the characters, about Selena, about Martha, about the nanny, about the mysterious young Pearl. The plot is dark, intricate, and twisty, the pace is perfect, and I loved how the author slowly unravels the truth, giving you little pieces of the puzzle that slowly comes together.

Confession on the 7:45 will keep you on the edge of your seat and will leave you wondering: who can you trust?

A huge thank you to HQ for providing me with a copy of the novel.

5 thoughts on “#BookReview: CONFESSION ON THE 7:45 by Lisa Unger @lisaunger @HQstories”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s